Friday, January 16, 2009

We are all tired bones

We all had a very busy day today.

Bear and I played for over an hour in the waiting room of our doctors office. We read great stories and learned that Bear LOVES Corduroy. It touched my heart since I loved him growing up.

Dad is feeling crummy. He hasn't broken his temp in 3 days even with massive amounts of medications. He is fighting a sinus infection and respiratory infection. He has been feeling sick for the past month so we finally demanded some answers and medications. We knew it wasn't viral because Brandon nor I have gotten it. He has high temps, horrible body aches, coughing like a lung is going to jump out of his chest, sore throat, head pressure, and hot/cold sweats. I think in a day or two he will be much better with his antibiotic.

Brandon is done with his meds. He is feeling much better and sleeping much better as well.

Dad was able to nap so he could feel well enough to come with us tonight to Sesame Street Live. We met Stephanie and Chris there (our new friends we met through my Moms Expo). They brought their 2 kids as well. We actually got the tickets for free from Kare 11 and Momslikeme.com for a Thank you for doing the Moms Expo.

We had floor seats and it wasn't too packed which was great. The show was wonderful. Yes, I have photos and will post them soon. It lasted 90 minutes. I was surprised it lasted that long. Brandon did watch off and on but he went without an afternoon nap so he got fussy at times. It was loud at times especially when the girls behind us screamed at Big Bird and Elmo. They were super excited but it scared Brandon. We were prepared with a bottle so that helped for part of it. At the last song I took Brandon to the side and we watched standing up. That worked really well. The characters were all waving bye-bye and Brandon and I did too. He did great at bye-bye. We walked back to our cars and said bye-bye to Steph, Chris, and the kids and when we said it twice he started waving again. It was cute! I am so proud of him.

SO...here is an interesting item....you have to change a diaper and get the babe into pjs. So you leave the ever entertaining show to do your work when you realize you have to use the bathroom yourself. Now you are stuck but you have to do something...you go into "Screw this...I can do it" mode. So I take a stab at it. Into the stall I go hanging Brandon's clothes on the back of the door. With my left arm I am holding onto Brandon tight and use my right to do everything else. I even managed the toilet paper just fine, flushing, and pants maneuvering too. Then it was wash time for our 4 hands, one face, and 2 nuks. We survived just fine. We even got a few giggles in there. I was very proud of myself.

To those that are thinking they might want to have kids or wondering if you are ready for kids you should try this....tie one hand/arm up completely and don't use it. Then grab 3 bags and a purse and fill them to the brim with bricks. After that perform small tasks: laundry, dishwasher, bathroom, getting in and out of a car! If you can handle that then you are ready to have kids.

This is the biggest change for me in becoming a mom. I can handle the sleep issues since I don't sleep well to begin with. I can handle the money issue- since we are great bargain shoppers and we always know where we can cut and pull from. The crying, sick noses, and tantrums I am getting used to. I don't mind this part of mothering- it just takes a few extra brain cells to remember every item at all times and trying to problem solve how you are going to make it work. For instance, we were worried Rob wouldn't be able to make it tonight which would mean I would have to handle downtown Minneapolis with an infant. This would mean a big diaper bag, diaper changes, pj change, carrying him through the skyway and all around the Target Center...my coat, his coat, diaper bag, him, having the phone handy because Steph was going to call about a meeting location. It would have been a lot. So we are glad that dad felt well enough to come with.

It is NEVER just you and a purse anymore. Even if you are alone shopping. It is when you have boughten out the grocery store when you get to your car in -20 degree weather when you notice the stroller is in the trunk (no room), the car seat base in part of the back (little room), and a work bag and leather bag in the front seat(not much room). SO...sure it is just you and your purse (and big coat, hat, scarf, and gloves) but you now are thinking you have to walk home with the cart in order to get your groceries home. HMMMM...I think 90% of motherhood is problem solving and always being one step ahead of yourself. If you aren't you just have to be creative.

No comments: