Friday, January 30, 2009

My Random 25 Things

So I have been tagged on Facebook...and Myspace...and what seems like everywhere else with this 25 Random Things. SO- I am going to do it on Brandon's Blog. However I have to admit the ones my sister posted I kinda knew about so I am going to try and out beat her (something we always try and do) and post things even she or my husband may not know about me. HE HE!

1. A job I would be good at (not my dream job but something I would be good at) is a taxi driver. This is without a GPS system in my car. I am good with directions and remembering locations so I would be a good taxi driver.

2. One thing I want to do before I die is learn how to play another musical instrument. I always wanted to try the accordian.

3. If I could I would be another Michelle Duggar and have LOTS of kids. I really admire her (sometimes her husband Jim Bob drives me nuts) but I think Michelle is a great mom and I have no problem with her having 18 kids. I remember being 11 years old and telling my dad and Joan that I wanted 17 kids. They said I would only be allowed to bring 2 kids at a time to Christmas and Easter.

4. A hidden talent I wish I had: wood working. I would love to build coffee tables, shelves, etc. I do wish I could play guitar and sing too.

5. I don't have ONE dream job- some I would like to try: Teacher, Nurse, Doctor, Social Worker, CEO, and Funeral Director. I always wanted to be a funeral director and work with families who just lost a loved one. I think I have the compassion to do that.

6. I want to write a book. Actually I have 4 books I want to write in mind. I am actually researching for one of them.

7. A great hidden talent I do have: I can clap one handed and turn my feet all the way around. I was born VERY pigeon toed and supposed to have a bar between my legs as an infant.

8. I yelled (okay- downright SCREAMED) "OWIE" just twice when I was having Brandon. Then I would stop and said to myself outloud, "I'm okay, I'm okay, I'm okay" over and over and over- just to keep my mind right.

9. I would love to try and non-medicated all natural birth but I don't have faith that I could do it.

10. I couldn't live without: My husband and son....and Diet Coke.

11. My favorite blanket I sleep with at night was made by nuns.

12. I am horrible at asking for help- ask my husband. This is our number one fight. I could be in a full body cast and I would find a way to make dinner, clean the house, do all the laundry, and mow the lawn so I don't have to ask for help.

13. I have had WAY too many surgeries in my 28 years of life- tubes in my ears several times, adnoids out, apendix out, Nissen, gall bladder out, wisdom teeth out, laporscopic surgery....

14. If I could do one day all over again in my life it would be my wedding day. It went too fast and I would have done some things differently.

15. I have a major sleep issue. I have for many years. I haven't slept through the night in 4 years or so. At times it takes me 4-5 hours to fall asleep (this is the issue now and why I go to bed at 8pm). I haven't seen a dr. for the issue and really don't want to.

16. My greatest physical feature is my height. My least favorite physical feature is my height.

17. I RARELY have anger issues with people. I get angry and sometimes I express it wrong but there is ONE person I have major issues with and can truely say I HATE. I don't like being this way and hating him but I do right now and I am working through that. Someday I hope to say I don't HATE him and will be over it. No- it isn't my husband or any ex-boyfriend. I don't associate myself with this person anymore- nor does Rob or Brandon.

18. My hardest lesson I have learned in life- is a toss up between money and relationships.

19. I have clothes in my closet that range in 4 different sizes. I can blame a baby for this can't I.

20. I LOVE living in Minnesota. I don't mind the winter or snow or cold. I actually enjoy four solid seasons. I wouldn't live anywhere else.

21. I am NOT an 8-5 girl. I need a job where I can come and go...get my work done and leave...that is why I love where I am at right now.

22. My newest venture is journaling. I have been keeping a personal journal, a marriage journal, a baby journal for Brandon...and this blog.

23. My newest favorite website is www.momslikeme.com

24. I do not own an ipod. I had one that broke and an mp3 player is somewhere in this house. I have an itunes account and the music is on my lap top but I don't have an ipod. Rob wants to head to Circuit City soon when they are marked down.

25. My Birthday gift to myself is a TATTOO!!!! SURPRISE MOM! I am getting a bear paw on my foot or ankle with Brandon's B-Day or initials on it. I have been searching for the right place to go...but I WILL BE GETTING ONE!!!!

and one more...

26. If I could meet anyone- it would be Ellen. I LOVE ellen. I dvr her show every day and watch it at night.

Thursday, January 29, 2009

Some new Motherly Loves

I haven't done 'Motherly Loves' lately...

Motherly Love is cringing through your teeth as you lift your baby from his crib and you have pain shoot through your back.

Motherly Love is wanting to be the one throwing up instead of your child.

Motherly Love is rocking your baby to sleep for what seems to be an hour...you do this because you aren't at home and your baby isn't familiar with the surroundings.

Motherly Love is wondering what photos you can do without on your camera so you can delete them because you take too many photos.

Motherly Love is not getting mad at daddy when he gives Brandon a taste of Mountain Dew. After all, you were the one that forgot the sippy cup.

Motherly Love is perfecting the art of driving one handed so your other hand can be reaching behind the passenger side seat to hold your sad baby's hand.

Motherly Love is memorizing the 'Good Morning Engines' book...your child's favorite.

Motherly Love is staying up late attempting to journal every thought of motherhood and every milestone in your sons baby book.

Motherly Love is forcing yourself to back off and let Daddy handle situations so your child gets used to both mom and dad.

Motherly Love is when someone else is holding your baby and says, "Mom is over there...Say HI to Mom." and you look around the room wondering who this 'mom' is only to smile and realize it is you...and that you really are a mom.

Motherly Love is sharing your foods with your little love. Even your favorites and you want to save it all for yourself...even lick the plate clean favorite foods- but you let the babe have some.

Motherly Love is letting your child move his hand quickly over your mouth to get you to make a funny noise with your lips....Motherly Love is not screaming when his long nails scratch your face.

Motherly Love is crawling into the tub with your son so he can have the full tub effect without tipping over.

Motherly Love is taking 20 minutes to say bye-bye to people so you can get your baby to wave bye-bye.

Motherly Love is being fully loaded...a nuk in your purse, in your pocket, in the diaper bag, in the car seat, in your coat pocket, in your glove box, in the crib, next to your bed....you get the point.

Motherly Love is writing something special to your baby every day...something new he/she did, the events of the day, etc.

Motherly Love is wiping nose boogies with your sleeve.

Motherly Love is being okay with a kid in jammies all day because he keeps pulling his socks off. So you have to keep him in jammies all day so his feet stay warm.

Motherly Love is smiling big and saying "It's okay honey" when your kid throws up all over you....and keeps throwing up in your hands. (Sorry that is a gross one).

Motherly Love is pinched toes from letting your kid hop on your feet to learn how to walk.

Motherly Love is making extra effort to show love and affection to daddy in front of the baby so he knows how much mommy and daddy love each other.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Random thoughts

Tonight we are in Paynesville visiting Gma and Gpa Quick. I love working from home so I can have this flexibility since Rob is usually off during the week. We don't get to spend too much time together during the weekends. So this worked well.

About my job- I was interviewing for a management position in long term care. I have a few more steps to continue but I am not sure I will take the job.

Simply Retail is actually doing well. Business is picking back up again- next week I do to Madison, the following week I go to Albert Lea and then in Feb. some time I will go to Florida and probably Boston! So things are good. I like being able to have Brandon during the day and spend time with him and have that freedom but yet still work. I have to be disciplined to work during his naps. This week has been hard with that seeing that I am so sick from a bad cold and cough that the boys gave me I have been napping with him at times. However I have still been signing business and doing well. They did drop my benefits but that is fine because Rob is picking them up under his work and they will actually be better. It takes a small chunk out of his pay checks but that is okay. My work is still able to pay me my regular salary. I have been there over 2 years and really haven't gotten a pay increase but I am really happy and satisfied with this...I can work 10-20 hours a week and really kick things out and move things along and for the most part keep my pay so I am really satisfied and content with that. AND I get to be with bear. So the work thing is good.

Because of this we got rid of Rob's truck. We are actually glad for that. We will be a one car family for a while. My car is rather a pricey monthly payment (it usually is for a dream car isn't it). Robs truck payment was high too and saw no need for both of them. Rob works 6 miles from us so if I need the car for the day I will drop him off and pick him up. He also has friends that can drive him home at his night shifts so I don't have to wake Brandon up to go get Rob. We also have a neighbor that we told were very nice and would be willing to come stay with Brandon for 10 minutes while I run and get Rob- so we will make it work. On days when he works more early morning shifts he can take the car since we most likely will be staying home for the day. This is a huge weight off our shoulders as the 2 payments were large and a big chunk of change. We will be saving for a used Jeep or something of that sort. Once we have that we will start another savings for another car (my next dream car- a minivan...sad...I go from a hardtop convertible to a mini van). We will buy the mini van or some other vehicle and then get rid of my car. That will leave us with NO payments. YAHOOO. After that is done we have our monthly house payment and utilities, cell phone, and one student loan left and that is ALL. We are very proud of ourselves that we don't have credit cards.

As for my back- we aren't doing the surgery. My neurosurgeon is just not okay with it. I am okay with that. In my gut I was not ready for it. So instead I will be seeing a pain specialist on a regular basis. My first apt. is on Friday. We will try different meds since my vicodin and muscle relaxors aren't helping at night. The problem is I let it get bad throughout the day then I can't control it at night. But I am not always comfortable with taking narcotics during the day when I am caring for Brandon. We might try a patch or injections or a pump thing and see if that will help. Maybe some high steroids and non-narcotics during the day and then see if we can control the pain with narcotics at night. The back is becoming a major issue. I had a friend invite me to go skiing. I would love to go but it isn't possible. The other day I went to a movie and had to leave near the end because I was in too much pain. There are times when all you think about is the pain. I have been really good at hiding it but there are times when I go to the bathroom and cry or really fight back tears.

Brandon is doing great. He is a full crawler now. He likes to roll still though. We have been having an issue with him being cold. At night (he is sleeping well now) he is in a long sleeve onsie, socks, and polar fleece jammies. He also has 2 warm blankets covering him and is away from the window and by the heating vent. When I get him for his one evening wake up he is ice cold. His lips have even been blue. I have noticed a few times in the morning too he is ice cold- ears, hands, toes...he doesn't kick the covers off either. I think at times he is waking up because he is so cold.

AND...BIG NEWS.....We will be having a contest coming soon. Once I get back home and get the photos on my lap top I will post the contest. I have a great prize for the winner too.

For all those moms out there...I want to invite you to visit a great website. It is like a facebook for moms only better. It was featured on Kare 11 and I know Cindy Chapman the site manager from my Moms Expo I put on. It is www.momslikeme.com You have to select your state and city. So, if you don't live in Mpls...you can still visit. I have posted many times and got some great feedback on there. I posted about Brandon being cold and lots of folks replied. One mentioned low blood sugars, poor circulation, a few said it is a phase and their kids had the same issue. Some suggested the sleep sack and a heater in his room. We have an extra space heater that is very safe and will shut off if it gets to a certain temp or tips over so we will be trying that. I am going to buy a sleep sack too. We will see if that works.

Well, I am off to bed. G00d Night.

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Ummm....that isn't crawling Brandon. That is....YOGA!


Brandon does know how to crawl now. But he would rather roll army crawl. He also starts in this position. Usually his butt if further up in the air and notice he is only on his big toe....not his foot but one toe. So we think he is an expert in yoga!

Brandon, you have to know this stuff at 9 months old...

"So when the toilet keeps running Brandon, you start by taking the lid off.....and then...."



Look Ma- I fixed the toilet all by myself! I don't even know what a toilet is or how to use it but I know how to fix it.

Aunties Big Party


Crazy Auntie Nickey just turned 30! We had a big party for her at Gma and Gpas. We played lots of Rockband. Brandon got to play with Uncle Ry-Ry who is a pro at the drums. Then he played with the Aunties! The first pic is Brandon doing okay with the Aunties....then he wasn't okay. He wasn't himself and was very crabby. We went home at 9 or so to take his temp which was at 104. That explains why he wasn't feeling too well and was fussy.


New Cousin, Jackson


Even though it is just his butt- here is Brandon's new cousin, Jackson! He is Uncle Ry-Ry and Auntie Elena's new puppy. Brandon likes him and he likes Brandon- especially if he has just finished eating and still has his bib on. Jackson is a mix of Besengi (spelling) and Jack Russell. He is the softest dog!

Stealing Daddys Cookie

He eventually got it. Look at his eyes in the last photo.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Things I need to post about

I have a lot to post about....my main goal this week is to write out the story of Brandon's birth. I have told it verbally many times but never wrote it out on paper. I want to do that before I forget since it was 9 months ago already.

Other things I need to write about...

1- Brandon crawling
2- Moms day off
3- Brandon meeting his great-grandparents in Grand Rapids, MN and his first 'big' trip without Mom and Dad- just him and Gma and Gpa went.
4- Brandon's new foods
5- Our newly changed house
6- Brandon's new room
7- My back update
8- Brandon's new words he is saying (or attempting to say)
9- God and Motherhood and spirituality
10- Upcoming Birthdays and plans!
11- Brandon's new favorites
12- LOTS of new photos and even some videos

However, tonight I am going to try hard to get some rest. I am really worried about the day tomorrow. I am meeting again with my neurosurgeon for our next steps. My back is worse again and I am worried the next step is surgery. I know it is getting worse because I am feeling it in my legs and butt and even my bladder. (Long Medical Story). This means the disc is close to or is hitting a nerve near my spinal column. I have been great at past surgeries and not too worried. Even when I was 17 weeks pregnant with bear and had to have my gal bladder out- I wasn't too scared but for some reason this back issue is really worrying me. Last night when Rob got home at 9:30 I just broke down and finally admitted to him that I am really scared about it. I think it is because Brandon is here now and I am responsible for caring for him. How can I be a good mom when I can't lift him or pick him up for months after my surgery. I am going to be in more pain after the surgery. I will be putting a lot on Rob's shoulders. I am sad that I will miss something like part of him growing up. Just being gone from him for 10 hours he has changed and has added a new expression and sound. Grandma worked hard today teaching him how to give kisses. I guess I am worried about the process and pain and not being able to care for my family. For me to slow down and stop is very hard.

On a side note- Amy's birthday was yesterday. She would have been 35. I have been in communication with her husband, Warren. He gives me hope when I think about my possible back surgery. Imagine fighting stage 4 breast cancer with 2 little ones. I get so much inspiration from Amy even though she passed away a month ago. Remember the WWJD bracelets. Sometimes when I am so overwhelmed I do a WWAD? And wonder what she would do. Yes, I pray to God and believe in Him but sometimes I just talk to Amy and I feel like she gets me and understands. It is amazing how one woman whom I never met has touched my life and my role as a mother so much. I know I am not the only one!

I will try and write the other items soon. I will also try and update when I know more after my 1:30 Dr. apt. I am also on facebook and update my status on there when I can.

Happy Monday!

Friday, January 23, 2009

Our Sick Family

Yes, we are all sick!

Rob is getting over a sinus infection and an upper respiratory/lung infection. He still has high temps and coughing spells. He is still achy too. However, he has been doing the best to push himself to help me out around the house and with caring for B.

Brandon is still coughing and has icky noses. He is sneezing a lot too. Finally this morning he threw up his entire breakfast all over daddy. Poor boy. Daddy took it well but Brandon was looking at me like, "Mommy, what is happening to me?" Poor baby. He is down for his morning nap but just started crying. We don't want to let him cry if he is throwing up- we need to make sure he didn't throw up again in his crib so we have to peek in on him when he is crying. He did well last night sleeping. He didn't take an afternoon nap- we let him cry in his crib for about an hour. He went to bed at 8 last night then woke up at 11pm. Rob took care of him because I was feeling icky and had a migraine. He slept until 6:30am this morning. I think his stuffy nose and cough stayed down so he can breathe and sleep well. I woke with him at 6:30 this morning. I went to just rock him and love him up. I wasn't sure if he was up for the day or not. His eyes were wide open. A couple of minutes after rocking him I had to go to the bathroom SO bad. I knew he was going to scream if I put him down but I couldn't wait any longer so I put him in his crib and left the room. He didn't cry a bit or even say a peep. He went right back to sleep. I went to the bathroom and went back to bed myself. This is the nice part about working from home- being able to sleep if I need to. Brandon didn't wake up this morning again until 9am. I went to get him and he was rocking on his hands and knees and talking. He ate a good breakfast and was doing really well until he got mad that we had to wipe his icky noses. He cried and all of a sudden threw up all over daddy. He is now cuddling with dad on the couch and they will sleep together for their morning naps.

I managed to catch the bug too. I have a bad sinus headache and sore throat. I had a call this morning for work and my voice is slowly drifting away. I have the chest pain and cough as well. This was the first stage for Rob with his bug so I know I am getting it and will take a bit. I am prepared but not super excited about it.

So what do you do when the entire family is sick....now what?

Monday, January 19, 2009

This will happen to you

As a mom my day has more 'to do's' in it than ever before....more cleaning, cooking, laundry, mommy time, wife time, work!!! I have found some items to be forgotten and frequently find myself banging my head against the wall in my forgetfulness. So what exactly am I talking about? Trust me this will happen to all moms....

1. It was 12:34am when I was finally done with my days work. It was time to hit the hay. Face washed, teeth brushed, pjs on.....AHHHHHHHHHHH I forgot the 6 laundry baskets of laundry I dumped on my bed that I was supposed to put away. Major problem....time to move my brain to problem solving mode do I a) put all the clothes away which will take me an hour and I have to go into Brandon's room and he is sleeping. b) Go sleep on the couch which is terrible for my back and I don't sleep well. c) Throw it all back in baskets until the morning and have overflow surround my bedroom floor. Guess which one I did? I have a great excuse- it was 12:34am and I needed sleep. It waited just fine until the morning.

2. This one was a few weeks ago: My daycare lady calls wondering why we paid her so much for one week of daycare....only to have a voice mail a few minutes later that our house payment is a little short. I couldn't figure out what the problem was. I soon realized I put the wrong payment in the wrong envelope and mailed it. They understood and were fine with it.

3. It is 4:30am and I had to be up early for my Moms Expo. I headed to the shower to warm it up (not pulling the shower curtain fully back). I use the bathroom and get undressed for my shower. I pull the curtain back to find the tub filled with Brandon's ducky he takes his bath in and all his bath toys. We usually dump the ducky and let it dry and then store it in our bathroom closet. However, I forgot. If I took it out now it would cause water all over the bathroom floor and a puddle in the closet. Oh well, there is room for 2 of us in this shower...move over ducky...I'm coming in!

4. I was finally on top of my game...house perfect, full groceries, only yesterdays clothes in the dirty clothes bin! YAHOO!!! I think I am going to wash the blankets we use in the living room. I haven't done that in 2 weeks or so. I proceed downstairs only to realize the washer is FULL with a load of clothes I totally forgot about and missed 3 days ago. Not only is it FULL it has that 'been in the wet washer for 3 days' smell to it. UHHHH....I restart the washer with a new load of soap to get the stink out. I had to do that twice.


This doesn't happen every day...just once a week or so.

It happens to ALL moms....doesn't it?

Sunday, January 18, 2009

Sesame Street Live






Lazy Sunday

Today we had a very lazy day.

Brandon was very sick last night with a temp over 103. Rob is also still fighting his lung infection and sinus infection and bad cold. We gave Brandon some meds to get his temp down but they didn't take after an hour. It was still in the 102s. We let him sleep in a onsie and not all bundled up. He went to bed at 9:30pm after we got home from Crazy Auntie Nicky's B-Day party (which we left early because he started feeling icky at 8ish). Brandon slept until 5am. He got up and was a little fussy. I took lots of back pain meds because my back was hurting really bad. I was a bit groggy and wacky. Dad took care of Brandon from 5am to 7am in the living room. Rob had a bad cough attack and scared Brandon so I took him and he was still sleepy so I gave him a bottle and put him back into bed. I would normally have woken up for the day but all 3 of us were so exhausted and not feeling well. He went back to sleep until we all woke up at 11am. I was concerned about how much he slept but he needed it. He was up from 11am to 12:30pm. He took another nap from 12:30-2:30 and then again from 4:30 to 6:30 tonight. We went out as a family to get some more medicine for dad and return some movies. He was back in bed by 9pm tonight- so getting a lot of sleep.

Some new foods Brandon is loving- not in baby food formula/texture- in REAL people food:

Pancakes
Grilled Cheese
Pumpkin Bread
Cheese
Bread
Peas
Pasta

He is a great chewer!!! I am glad he is weening off baby food totally.

I'm siiiiiiiiiiick, Daddy can I rest on you?


Ma, I found some new toys

Look at nummy foods


Friday, January 16, 2009

We are all tired bones

We all had a very busy day today.

Bear and I played for over an hour in the waiting room of our doctors office. We read great stories and learned that Bear LOVES Corduroy. It touched my heart since I loved him growing up.

Dad is feeling crummy. He hasn't broken his temp in 3 days even with massive amounts of medications. He is fighting a sinus infection and respiratory infection. He has been feeling sick for the past month so we finally demanded some answers and medications. We knew it wasn't viral because Brandon nor I have gotten it. He has high temps, horrible body aches, coughing like a lung is going to jump out of his chest, sore throat, head pressure, and hot/cold sweats. I think in a day or two he will be much better with his antibiotic.

Brandon is done with his meds. He is feeling much better and sleeping much better as well.

Dad was able to nap so he could feel well enough to come with us tonight to Sesame Street Live. We met Stephanie and Chris there (our new friends we met through my Moms Expo). They brought their 2 kids as well. We actually got the tickets for free from Kare 11 and Momslikeme.com for a Thank you for doing the Moms Expo.

We had floor seats and it wasn't too packed which was great. The show was wonderful. Yes, I have photos and will post them soon. It lasted 90 minutes. I was surprised it lasted that long. Brandon did watch off and on but he went without an afternoon nap so he got fussy at times. It was loud at times especially when the girls behind us screamed at Big Bird and Elmo. They were super excited but it scared Brandon. We were prepared with a bottle so that helped for part of it. At the last song I took Brandon to the side and we watched standing up. That worked really well. The characters were all waving bye-bye and Brandon and I did too. He did great at bye-bye. We walked back to our cars and said bye-bye to Steph, Chris, and the kids and when we said it twice he started waving again. It was cute! I am so proud of him.

SO...here is an interesting item....you have to change a diaper and get the babe into pjs. So you leave the ever entertaining show to do your work when you realize you have to use the bathroom yourself. Now you are stuck but you have to do something...you go into "Screw this...I can do it" mode. So I take a stab at it. Into the stall I go hanging Brandon's clothes on the back of the door. With my left arm I am holding onto Brandon tight and use my right to do everything else. I even managed the toilet paper just fine, flushing, and pants maneuvering too. Then it was wash time for our 4 hands, one face, and 2 nuks. We survived just fine. We even got a few giggles in there. I was very proud of myself.

To those that are thinking they might want to have kids or wondering if you are ready for kids you should try this....tie one hand/arm up completely and don't use it. Then grab 3 bags and a purse and fill them to the brim with bricks. After that perform small tasks: laundry, dishwasher, bathroom, getting in and out of a car! If you can handle that then you are ready to have kids.

This is the biggest change for me in becoming a mom. I can handle the sleep issues since I don't sleep well to begin with. I can handle the money issue- since we are great bargain shoppers and we always know where we can cut and pull from. The crying, sick noses, and tantrums I am getting used to. I don't mind this part of mothering- it just takes a few extra brain cells to remember every item at all times and trying to problem solve how you are going to make it work. For instance, we were worried Rob wouldn't be able to make it tonight which would mean I would have to handle downtown Minneapolis with an infant. This would mean a big diaper bag, diaper changes, pj change, carrying him through the skyway and all around the Target Center...my coat, his coat, diaper bag, him, having the phone handy because Steph was going to call about a meeting location. It would have been a lot. So we are glad that dad felt well enough to come with.

It is NEVER just you and a purse anymore. Even if you are alone shopping. It is when you have boughten out the grocery store when you get to your car in -20 degree weather when you notice the stroller is in the trunk (no room), the car seat base in part of the back (little room), and a work bag and leather bag in the front seat(not much room). SO...sure it is just you and your purse (and big coat, hat, scarf, and gloves) but you now are thinking you have to walk home with the cart in order to get your groceries home. HMMMM...I think 90% of motherhood is problem solving and always being one step ahead of yourself. If you aren't you just have to be creative.

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Fits

Brandon has learned the last 3 days how to throw fits. He has been whiny and screaming when we aren't fast enough at doing something or if he doesn't get his way. His new thing is also spitting.

It is so frustrating. Do you discipline him or no? We aren't talking spankings or yelling. We are talking losing our attention for a small period of time. I did some research and one lady shared how her son did the same thing in his high chair. When his fit would start she would just sit quietly until it was done. She said after a week his fits went away.

I am going to start trying this. Brandon is usually a happy baby. Why now? This morning at 4:30am he wanted loveys. I followed the dr.s orders. I went in there, loved him for 2-3 minutes and left. He stopped when I loved him but then when I left screamed super loud. This is how we know it is behavioral. I gave him 15 minutes (at 4:30 am I had only slept for 30 minutes so I needed some rest). I went back in....same result. I put him down and he screamed. Then we bump it to 30 minutes. He screamed. Rob finally heard him (he has been really sick lately and was in the living room on the floor sleeping). He went to get him and let him sleep with him on the floor. I finally got another 45 minutes of sleep but Brandon would keep waking up occassionally screaming. I eventually had to just get up because I had a big meeting this morning. I came home and Rob said he was whiny all day. Poor Rob- his day off and he is sick and has to care for a crabby baby. So he is now napping and I am making him stay in his room for 2 hours. I think I might try and get a half hour sleep too.

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

5:17am

So I have been super happy with Brandon sleeping better lately. He is sleeping mostly through the night and sometimes wakes up once. I am SHOCKED that he isn't up 16 times a night and I really think it was the ear infection. Tonight we were running late with everything and he was so messy he needed a bath. It was close to 10 when I got his jammies on. This hasn't happened in a long time. We skipped books and lovey time in which we rock and sing for a little bit. Rob crashed right when he got home from work at 6 tonight. His cold from a few weeks ago never really went away and tonight we are trying to get a somewhat high fever down. So Rob was resting. I just went ahead and put B in his crib and he fell asleep immediately. He will most likely sleep through the night and he is now waking up at 8:30 or 9am. It is wonderful.

HOWEVER....now that he is sleeping through the night I look at the clock when I am ready to fall asleep and it is 5:17 AM and I haven't fallen asleep yet. I have no idea why I can't sleep at night...GRRRR! If it isn't him it is me! I think if I am having issues sleeping still in a week or so I am going to finally head to a dr. Besides after the expo when I slept for many hours straight, it has been 3-4 years since I have gone to bed at 10pm or so and woke up at 6 or 7am. I would love to be able to do that again. I don't know if it is possible.

Other Brandon updates:

He tried a french fry and liked it.
He still loves his apple chicken baby food (even though we need to ween him from baby food)
He had nummy yogurt today
He sucked on a lemon last night at Don Pablo's and he loves them. It is odd.
He is starting to throw tantrums when he doesn't get his way right away...he fusses, screams, and spits.
He does get time outs for 30 seconds of basically where he gets no attention from us if he throws these tantrums. We calmly give him a warning and then tell him time out and put him down. Tonight it worked well.
He knows sign language for 'more'. He won't do it just yet but he gets a few puffs in the morning and when they are gone I sign 'more' and he gets super excited. He knows what 'more' means. Then I take his hands and sign it. He is learning. I think sometimes when he claps his hands together that means more.
He loves to walk. He would rather walk than crawl.
When he has a tantrum I sing "Have Patience" to him and he calms right down.
He is in 12 month size clothes. Some are big- but he actually has long arms (wonder why).

AND WE ARE STILL MADLY IN LOVE WITH HIM!!!!

Such a young man


I LOVE this kid!!!!

Happy Valentine's Day....a little early



Aunties and Uncles

Brandon has the best Aunties and Uncles. Uncle Ry-Ry gave him the Minnesota Gopher sweatshirt for Christmas. He has the same one! We need to get a photo of the two of them together.
The other shirt says "My Aunt Rocks" Brandon gave that to Auntie for Christmas! She had to get some photos in it.

He loves his aunties and uncles!

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Bye-Bye Baby Food

Brandon is sitting next to me in his high chair. I tried canned carrots today and he loved them. He ate half the can. I did get a photo of it but my battery died so once it is charged I will post it.

This means we can wean him off of baby food (some) and start giving him more soft solid foods. This is a bigger transition for him since he really does not like the texture of some of these items.

It is great that he loves these carrots- he can feed himself and it is much easier but MUCH messier. There are carrots all over the floor.

We need a dog to clean them up.

Monday, January 12, 2009

OH- Brandon's going to be a model

At the expo was a great gal, Lori, with her business- Sweet Cheeks Baby Food. She fell in love with Brandon and gave him a free onsie. I took some photos with him in it and told her about it and she wants Brandon to be a model on her website. YEAH!

I went to the grocery store today and 6 people stopped me and said he should be in commercials and ads. I have started researching this process and putting together his portfolio.

Auntie took his Valentine photos on Saturday while I was at the expo. Just wait till you see him.

He is such a ham!

Updates

I just posted a ton of new photos...now that I got around to it. As to some updates.

1. My Moms Expo went okay. I haven't totally tallied up the final amount but we did s0-s0. I made the local news again on Kare 11 so that was good. We expected more people but we still got about 300-400 or so and lots of great comments to that was good. We hope to do it again possibly this summer.

2. I was diagnosed with exhaustion on Sunday. I went to bed Saturday night at 11pm and woke up at 4pm on Sunday afternoon. I went back to bed by 4:30pm and woke up at 9am on Monday morning. I don't remember much other than getting up that half hour and eating a bagel and going to the bathroom. My body was in so much pain from being on my feet for 2 days straight. I was also lifting heavy chairs and tables and going non-stop Friday and Saturday for the expo. Rob would come and check on me to make sure I was alive. A few times I didn't respond to him and he got worried and called the dr. The on-call doc said that as long as I am breathing and it seems like I am asleep to let me sleep and that I am in total exhaustion. He said I could fight it out at home or at the hospital and Rob decided to let me sleep. I eventually woke up and responded to him a couple of times (I don't remember them). I am much much better today. My body doesn't hurt and I feel like I got some sleep. The main thing is to take in liquids and rest. This was just my body saying enough and time for rest. I was surprised the dr. said that I was at full exhaustion. He did mention they could admit me if I didn't wake at all but Rob knew I would want to be at home. I didn't hear him or Brandon at all during those hours.

3- Brandon...is SLEEPING!!!!!!!! AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!! We have cut the meds down a lot. We think the main issue was his ear and how much pain he was in. He has had that infection for a few weeks so it could easily be that. He is also moving himself in bed more and is able to find a comfortable position in the middle of the night now. He is doing SO much better. he will sleep from about 9pm to 4am and then does a diaper change and bottle and goes back to sleep for a few more hours- sometimes until almost 9am! He gets his am nap and pm nap for an hour each time and he goes down fully awake in his crib and falls asleep on his own. Tonight he also fell asleep on his own but woke up at 10:30. Dad took care of him since he didn't see him a whole lot because he was working lots today. He went back down at 10:50 and cried for a few minutes and fell asleep. Most likely he will sleep until 4am or so now. AMEN!!!!!!!!!! What a huge difference for all of us to be able to sleep now. The first time he did it I went to check on him because he isn't like that at all.

All for now.

I love my goofy hat.


Brandon got a new hat...and some new clothes. He isn't a fan when we put the hat on but here he is being a show-off with his new hat. He is a ham in front of the camera. He knows what the camera is and is totally different in front of it. Goofy!

Such a ham...and oh so handsome!

He is just like his parents- a big ham. And SO handsome...look at his last photo.


Kit-tee

This is in my office on our main level. Allie is our devil child at times. She has been doing ok since Tubby is gone. This is one of her favorite things when she climbs up daddy and walks on the doors.

Brandon LOVES the cats. We aren't calling them by their names- just Kittie. Sometimes he will say 'ttt'. Once he said a pretty clear k'ttt when he saw them. He smiles and giggles when they come near him. Allie will go near him mainly because I am with him and she won't leave me alone. I think Ash is sick of him and just wants to be left alone. I have noticed Ash being more lazy lately. Maybe he is just getting old and doesn't want to deal with a kid.

Cheese



Brandon has a new favorite food...plain shredded cheese. This was taken last week when he had the eye issue. You can see it a little bit.

Mommy got a new phone...and I got to try it out

B. had just finished his bath and he was crabby. He didn't want his massage with baby lotion. So he grabbed moms phone and had fun with it.

Daddy, I want your hat....and I got it!





Boys and their toys

Usually mommy is on her lap top all the time...not this day.